“9/11”, a poem by Musa Okwonga

The eleventh of September; yes,
I remembered,
Thanks to the Guardian –
Who live-tweeted the evil long after it was over,
Stealing my closure
And now I was back at that
Awful day,
When, at law school,
I was called away from class
To bear witness.
And now I relived it.

I had to stop and stand awhile
Leaning against a lamppost
As I thought of it,
My chest so hollow.
And then I looked up to see
A couple hugging,
And a man extending a hand to an old friend,
And I moved on from where I’d stood, since
The true tribute is to continue.

About Charlotte Morgan Nwokenna

Editor and Public Relations Officer
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “9/11”, a poem by Musa Okwonga

  1. FU says:

    Untitled.

    Surrounded, cold
    crowded
    Alone, dumbfounded.

    I haven’t walked away from it,
    Although the site has since vanished
    I’m trying,
    To reach you.

    And I loved the power of flight,
    Birds and supersonic jets,
    Big things we fail
    To appreciate
    The small, we tend to forget.

    Do you remember me,
    Like I do you.

  2. Tom F says:

    It has become a ‘where were you’ moment.

    Surrounded, cold, crowded;
    alone, dumbfounded.

    We have not walked on, it seems,
    brick and mortar, long gone.
    You don’t need our laser beams.

    I’m still trying to find you.

    And I once loved,
    The power of flight.

    Birds and supersonic jets.

    Big things we fail to appreciate
    Smaller we tend to forget.

    Do you remember me
    Like I do you?

Leave a Reply

