Poejazzi Twitter Workshop No2 Selection: Joy Da Costa

Hello readers,

Yesterday (and early this month for all your twitter followers) wordsmith champ and graphic designer par excellence that is Inua Ellams ran our second live twitter workshop. Every five minutes from 8pm we posted rules you could follow/bend/break, the only guarantee was at the end of the adventure you’d be staring at a piece of writing. Hurray, achievements!

Thanks to everyone who joined us on this productive and exciting journey. As promised, here are some of the entries sent to us.

Joy Da Costa

Glittering, everything glittering
The chandelier hangs like a giant tear drop in bright sunlight, glistening
The floor polished to perfection, reflecting like glass the extravagant décor.  

The knife beside my place, sharpened with precision, exquisitely ornate,
a bold and brilliant silver.
Deadly.

Shivering I remember that day, it was silver too, the gun in her hand
it shook violently as she aimed it at us
we cowered, terrified in the corner,
I couldn’t take my eyes off it, a bold and brilliant silver,
deadly.

Shuffle tap shuffle tap shuffle tap.
I had thought I was alone.

 It’s probably just the wind blowing the pebbles in the drive way and causing the porch curtains to flap as is prone to happen on more blustery days.

Or maybe, it’s her back to haunt me, dragging one victim in a body bag as she comes to claim her next. I shudder.

That’s silly I’m overreacting. Perhaps it’s Mr Jones from around the corner shuffling along with his peg-leg. But at this time of night why?

Wait. Mr Jones is in France, it cannot be him. But now I am sure it is the unmistakeable sound of a man’s foot dragging alongside his walking aid. I don’t know anyone else without two able feet. Perhaps it is my prince in shining armour, coming to rescue me from this dull world of beauty!

I can see him now, through the gap in the drapes, and though he walks with a limp, he has a ruggedly handsome face that I am drawn to. I can tell he is kind. His hair is the darkest brown and his blue eyes sparkle, even though his expression is quite serious. He is tall, a gentleman I think.

I know now. This is he, this is my prince! I want to run to him! My heart is about to burst with joy. I have never felt this way before, it is quite strange and yet, quite wonderful. I will never be complete again without him. I have found love and fear is banished forever!  

PS: Joy, don’t worry yourself, this is a good piece.

PS: If you would like to try your hand at the workshop, here are the rules:

Rules:
 1) Each verse: 60 words max!
 2) 5 mins max to write each verse.
 3) Poem can be entirely real or fictional.
 4) We start in 5mins!
1) You are sitting in a room. Describe it.
Settle on one solitary object, describe its shade of colour.
2) The colour reminds you of an incident from your childhood.
What happened?
3) You hear a noise outside the window, but instead of investigating,
you imagine 3 things it might be.
 4) Expand on the last imagined scenario.
Include a figure, a person you do not know.
5) Describe this person in detail, walking to your window, peering in at you from outside.
 6) Say something about how this person makes you feel.

About idehen

Poet, Frontman to alt hip hop band Benin City. Founder of Poem inbetween People. Co Founder of Spoken word/music night Poejazzi. Workshopper. Lover of all things horror/scifi/fantasy/tech related. Host. Semi bad man.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

